First Class Diver

First Class Diver information

First Class Diver

Want to achieve the highest BSAC diver grade?

BSAC’s highest diving grade requires a higher than average level of theoretical knowledge, organisational and personal diving skills. First Class Diver is a very challenging award to achieve. Since 1953 when the BSAC first formed, only 926* people have qualified as First Class Divers. (* as of 10 May 2010).

BSAC First Class Divers are assessed through nationally conducted examinations.


You must have completed 100 dives in a range of conditions since qualifying as an Advanced Diver, at least 20 of which must show experience of diving to depths greater than 30m. You must also have:

• attended a BSAC Chartwork and Position Fixing course (or equivalent).

• attained the BSAC Diver Rescue specialist qualification.

• gained the BSAC Diver Coxwain qualification (or equivalent).

Qualification and what that means

The First Class Diver Exam is conducted at a national level and consists of three separate modules that can be taken in any order. More information on the First Class Diver syllabus and how to achieve it.

• Theory Knowledge Examination

• Expedition Plan

• Practical Diving Assessment (2 Days)

A BSAC First Class Diver is defined as a diver who has:

• a high level of practical diving skills and knowledge beyond that of BSAC Advanced Diver

• the ability to organise groups of divers and lead major diving expeditions to achieve specific aims or objectives

• the ability and knowledge to contribute to BSAC developments at a branch, regional and national level

How to do this course

A key first step is to First Class Diver Syllabus

First Class Diver Registration

Example Expedition Plans